Gauchos Claim Several Individual Victories at Riverside Dual Meet

Gauchos Claim Several Individual Victories at Riverside Dual Meet

Meet Results

RIVERSIDE, Calif. –While Barbara Nwaba was competing at the NCAA Indoor Championships, the rest of the Gaucho Track and Field headed down to UC Riverside to compete in a dual meet. After seven long years, UC Riverside hosted its first home meet following the renovation of its new track.

The Gauchos quickly got down to business on the brand new, eight-lane Rekortan M99 world championship track with ten athletes claiming multiple personal victories. The men won beat Riverside 93-87 while the women scored 86 points to Riverside's 92. 

Jenn Carey won the 100m in 12.59 and Megan Vyenielo placing third with 13.00. Evan Walker placed third with a time of 10.91 and Michael Aiken finished in 11.31. In the 200m dash, Grace Esslinger won with her time of 25.22 and Carey placing third with a time of 25.8. Jacob Vowels finished in fourth (22.55) on the men's side and Sean Johnson running 23.22. Jordan Scott won the men's 400m clocking in a time of 48.22 followed by Marquis Caldwell in 48.61. Lauren Kodama placed second with a time of 57.09 and Cherrelle McMillian placing third at 57.31.

Grace Esslinger won the women's 100m hurdles in 14.61 and Cherise Dixon finished in 15.51. Sean Johnson won on the men's 110m hurdle event with his time of 14.77 and Mikael Powers coming in second at 15.20. Amanda Rodriguez ran 1:03.90 to finish second in the 400m hurdles and Monae Dale finished third in 1:07.08. Jimmy Martin 55.12 on the men's side and Humberto Garcia clocked in 56.33.

Ryan Martin highlighted the middle distance races with his first place time of 1:51.50 in the 800m followed by Tyler Brady in second with his time of 1:56.60. Alex Grant placed third on the women's side with her time of 2:21.18 and Tori Tsolis coming in at 2:23.44. Brady would go on to win the men's 1,500m run with his time of 3:56.71 followed by Juan Paredes at 3:57.09. Dani Moreno lead the Gaucho women to a third place finish with her time of 4:44.60 followed by Breanne Strenkowski's time of 4:45.56. Strenkowski highlighted the 3,000m run by placing first in 10:03.50 and Dani Moreno in second with 10:05.58. Anthony Masci placed second in the men's 3k, running 8:33.94 and Bhavik Kanzaria placing third with 8:37.22.

The Gaucho men and women both won the high jump event, Mike Larocca setting a new personal record of 6-10.75 followed by Mitchell Haag who tied his personal record at the same height. Helena Montin's first place mark of 5-5 was followed by Monae Dale's third place mark of 5-1. John Walsh placed third in the long jump, his farthest mark measuring 21-8 while Mikael Powers cleared 21-4. Tayler Williams cleared 17-8.25 in the long jump for second place and Veronica Gines cleared 16-11.75. Williams also competed in the triple jump where she also placed second with her mark of 37-0.5. Gines jumped 35-0.25. Karlon Johnson placed second on the men's side with his mark of 45-5.75. Arthur Dyson jumped 43-0.5.

In the throws, Irene Kujore placed third in the discus, throwing 143-9.75 and Kathleen Guzman throwing 139-5. Adam Shigem hurdled 157-8.5 good for second place while Chris Hamilton threw 152-4.5 placing third overall. Alex Francis threw 165-3.25 for third place while Kathleen Guzman threw 132-9. Derek Masterson highlighted the javelin with his winning throw of 192-2 and Michael Guerra came in second with his throw of 178-3.5. Jennifer Melton threw 130.1.5 and good for second and Grace Esslinger threw 127-6.75.  Irene Kujore won the women's shot put event with her throw of 49-4.5 and Alex Francis threw 42-1.5 for third place. Alex Umstead finished second, throwing 51-1.5 and Kyle Strawn threw 50-5.25 for third.

The Gauchos won both the men's and women's 4x100m relay with the men clocking in 41.14 and the women coming in at 47.27. The men's 4x400m relay team also won in a time of 3:11.64 while the women placed second in 3:50.67.

The men and women track and field teams will return to action next weekend, March 16-17 at the Northridge Invitational at CSU Northridge.