Gauchos Announce End of the Year Awards

May 4, 2009

Bookmark and Share

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The UC Santa Barbara swim team honored the outstanding achievements of its student-athletes this year at the Gauchos' annual awards banquet on Saturday, April 18.

Anne Marie May, Katy Freeman and Bradley Matsumoto were named the Richard and Dawn Schroeder Most Valuable Players of the Year.

The David Gray Captain Awards went to Chris Good and Brock Roverud and the Marcie Kjoller Captain Awards were given to Katy Freeman and Nadia Dwidar.

Freeman took home more awards than anyone else. She won the Anne Loucks Achievement Award and was recognized for her All-American, Academic All-American, Golden Eagle Scholar Athlete Award and Big West Scholar Athlete of the Year accolades.

Freeman's academic honors were part of an excellent academic year for the Gauchos, which included both the men's and women's teams earning Academic All-American honors.

Carrying the team's GPA were Scholar Athletes of the Year Lindsay Guardinier, a history major, and Chris Peterson, a mechanical engineering major.

Joining Freeman as individual Academic All-Americans were Anne Marie May, Naomi Javanifard and Erin Yamamoto. May was also an All-American Honorable Mention after placing in the top-16 in the 50 freestyle at the NCAA Championships.

In addition to his David Gray Captain Award, Good was also an Academic-All American Honorable Mention along with Bradley Matsumoto and Kevin Kuhn. The awards did not stop there for Good, who was also Big West Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Kevin Ferguson, Kevin Kuhn and Katie Reeves were named Most Improved. Ferguson also earned Big West Freshman of the Year honors.

Bradley Matsumoto was also named Golden Eagle Scholar Athlete, an award given to one student-athlete on each of UCSB's teams that posts the highest cumulative GPA.

The David Hendrickson Most Inspirational Award went to Erin Yamamoto, Nadia Dwidar and Jeff Sudbury.

Rounding out the list of honorees was Joe Plume, who received the Robert Webster Team Spirit Award.

- -