Gauchos Named Big West Champions

Feb. 23, 2008

Complete Results

LONG BEACH, Calif. - If you see members of the UCSB swim team, congratulate them on their victories at the Big West Swimming Championship. The men's team won the league title with 856 points. The next closest team was UC Davis with 674 points. On the women's side, the women dominated the meet and scored 926 points to be named Big West champions. The men captured their 26th title, third in the past five years (`04, `06), while the women's team was crowned conference champion for the third straight season, 11th overall.

The women's 200 back started off the last day of the Big West Swimming and Diving Championships with UCSB taking the second through fourth spots. Junior Jessica Cruzat took second in 1:59.00, Katie Ure was third in 2:02.56, and Liz Wagner placed fourth, touching the wall at 2:02.56. All three times were season-bests for the women. On the men's side, Chris Good claimed the 200 back league title, finishing in 1:47.13.

Freshman Lindsay Gaudinier placed second in the longest individual race of the meet, the 1650 free (17:14.08). She handily beat her previous season-best time of 17:37.72. Sophomore Jessica Schwalb was fifth, touching the wall at 17:30.92, beating her season-best time by over 26 seconds. Co-captain Brooks Felton was second in the men's version, completing the race in 15:30.82, almost 19 seconds better than his season-best time.

Sophomore Anne Marie May garnered her second individual Big West first place win in the 100 free (49.71). Sophomore Courtney Bauer was close behind at second (50.16) and junior Jenisse DeMeulenaere took fourth in 51.24.

UCSB went into the men's 100 free final with seven of the eight spots and came out of the finals with first through seventh place and totaled 107 points in the event. Junior Bradley Matsumoto claimed the prize in 43.89. Sophomore Scott Vogelgesang took second (44.30), and Dan Morris finished third with a season-best time (44.91). Joe Wood took fourth (45.16), Jeff Sudbury came in fifth (45.17), Matt Sullivan placed sixth (45.19), and Curtis Bauer rounded out the group at seventh (45.26).

Junior Katy Freeman overtook teammate freshman Sara Nicponski for first placed in the women's 200 breast. Freeman's time of 2:10.89 is a new UCSB record and meet record, beating out Nicponski's record from earlier in the season (2:13.63) and automatically qualifies her the NCAA Championship. Nicponski finished the race in 2:14.53. In the men's 200 breast, Dan Nyaradi finished in third place (2:02.15) with Travis Jepson close behind at fourth (2:02.32). Both times are season-bests for the swimmers.

The women's 200 fly finals saw UCSB capture the third and fifth place spots. Junior Erin Yamamoto took third in 2:00.97 and freshman Brittany Borowitz claimed fifth in 2:03.64. Both times are season-best for the women. Freshman Kelsey Lewis swam a 2008 best time of 2:05.04 for sixth place.

Sophomore Matt Bartlett was second in the men's 200 fly finals, clocking in at 1:45.75, a season best by .20 of a second. Sophomore Danny McClary finished third in the race (1:48.46) with Chris Wiggin touching the wall at 1:48.68 for fourth. Jon Kraetsch placed sixth in 1:49.96.

Bauer, Nadia Dwidar, Erin Yamamoto, and May combined forces to win the women's 400 free relay in 3:20.56, another UCSB relay record broken during the meet.

The Gauchos get their feet wet again March 2 when they compete in the Pac-10 Invitational.