UC Santa Barbara Sweeps Big West Swimming and Diving Titles

UC Santa Barbara Sweeps Big West Swimming and Diving Titles

Feb. 18, 2006

LONG BEACH, Calif. - UC Santa Barbara captured both the men's and women's swimming and diving championships at the 2006 Big West championship meet concluded today at Belmont Plaza in Long Beach. The Gaucho men recorded 821.0 points to beat out second place UC Davis which had 733.0 points. UCSB women edged out a tough UC Davis squad, with the Gauchos scored 785.0 points to the Aggies 756.0.

Individual event winners for UCSB on the men's side today included junior Pat Cary and sophomore Brooks Felton. Cary stormed to victory in the 200 fly with a time of 1:45.58 while Felton won the 1,650 freestyle in 15:36.78. Both Gaucho swimmers won two events at this year's championships.

Bradley Matsumoto, Patrick Ota, Scott Lindberg, and Grant Hurst won the 400 free relay, 3:00.38. Brent Nolan took second to Felton in the 1650, 15:43.29. Grant Hurst placed second in the 100 free, 45.58. Bradley Matsumoto and Curtis Bauer took fifth and sixth, 46.37 and 46.42 in that event. T.K. Erwin and Myles Peck finished third and fourth in the 200 back, 1:47.95 and 1:48.12, respectively.

On the women's side, two freshmen emerged victorious for the Gauchos. Jessica Cruzat took home top honors in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:59.78. Freeman swam the 200 breaststroke in 2:15.88 for her second individual title of the meet to go with two first place finishes in relay events. Jenisse Demeulenaere, Jessica Cruzat, Jen Schwalb and Nadia Dwidar won the 400 freestyle relay, 3:24.88.

Jen Cook finished second to Freeman in the 200 breast with a time of 2:18.66. Ashley Yamahata took second in the 1650 event with a time of 17:20.89. Jenisse Demeulenaere finished second in the 100 free, 51.47 and Nadia Dwidar was just behind her finishing fourth, 51.56. Jen Schwalb and Erin Yamamoto took third and fourth in the 200 fly, 2:01.98 and 2:02.46. Danielle Taylor took fourth in the 200 back, 2:05.98 and teammate Alissa Hollowell took seventh, 2:11.93.

The Big West Women's Freshman of the Year went to UC Santa Barbara's Katy Freeman. UCSB's Gregg Wilson got the nod as Big West Men's and Women's Coach of the Year to round out top honors.

Final team results are as follows:


UC Santa Barbara - 785.0; UC Davis - 756.0; UC Irvine - 722.5; Pacific - 615.0; Cal Poly- 249.5; Cal State Northridge - 247.0


UC Santa Barbara - 821.0; UC Davis - 733.0; UC Irvine - 644.5; Pacific - 615.0; Cal Poly- 293.0; Cal State Northridge - 292.5