Gauchos Sweep Major MPSF Swimming Honors

Andrea Ward (By Randall Lamb)
Andrea Ward (By Randall Lamb)

All-MPSF Teams

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – Coming off of its outstanding performance at the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championships this past weekend, the UCSB women's swim team has been heavily honored by the conference, which announced its year-end awards today.

Sophomore Andrea Ward was named Athlete of the Year, Katie Records garnered Freshman of the Year accolades and Gregg Wilson was named Coach of the Year. Thirteen Gauchos were also named to the MPSF First and Second Teams for their performances. 

Ward earns Athlete of the Year honors after winning three individual event titles and three relay titles at the championships. She set meet records in the 100 fly (52.98), 200 fly (1:59.16) and 200 medley relay (1:39.63). Ward also swam on the champion 800 free relay (7:17.82) and 400 medley relay (3:39.89) teams and took first in the 500 free (4:50.41). She rounded out her meet program with a second-place finish in the 400 free relay (3:23.01). She also set school records in the 100 fly, 200 fly, 800 free relay and 200 free this season. Ward was twice named the MPSF Swimmer of the Week this year.

Records had a remarkable MPSF Championships. She claimed the 200 breaststroke title, placed third in the 100 breast and took 11th in the 200 individual medley (2:04.13). Her winning time in the 200 breast – 2:13.41 – is an NCAA 'B' consideration time, as was her time in the 100 breast (1:02.08). She garnered a total of 42 points for the Gauchos, helping them take second place.

Head coach Gregg Wilson, who is in his 28th season at the helm of the UCSB women's program, led the Gauchos to their second-consecutive second-place finish at the MPSF Championships. Throughout the four-day event, UCSB won 10 event titles, set five new meet records and broke six school records. The Gauchos posted a total of 14 NCAA 'B' cuts during the meet. For the season, UCSB posted a 6-3 dual record. The 27-time Big West Conference Coach of the Year garners his first MPSF honor after joining the league last season.

A total of 10 Gauchos garnered All-MPSF First Team honors after their standout showings in Monterey Park and nine grabbed Second Team accolades. Among the first team honorees were Ward (200 medley relay, 800 free relay, 500 free, 400 medley relay, 100 fly, 200 fly), Allie Knight (200 medley relay, 200 IM, 400 medley relay, 400 IM, 200 back), Sophia Yamauchi (200 medley relay, 200 IM, 400 medley relay, 100 breast, 200 breast), Kendall Neely (200 medley relay, 400 medley relay, 200 free relay), Emma Hunt (800 free relay, 200 free, 200 fly), Records (100 breast, 200 breast), Heren Alanis (800 free relay), Anne Peanasky (800 free relay), Sasza Lohrey (200 free relay) and Mariah Tharp (200 free relay).

The second team honorees are Peanasky (200 IM, 100 fly, 200 fly, 400 free relay), Paige Bradley (100 breast, 200 breast), Hunt (500 free, 400 free relay), Alanis (400 IM, 1650 free), Micaela Velasquez (200 free, 1650 free), Neely (100 free), Ward (400 free relay), Yamauchi (400 free relay) and Caila Baltas (platform diving).