Nine Gauchos Garner MPSF All-Academic Honors

Nine Gauchos Garner MPSF All-Academic Honors

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – Nine members of the UCSB men's water polo team have garnered Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic honors it was announced by the conference on Friday. The Gauchos had the third-most honorees among the conference's teams following Stanford (14) and UC Irvine (10).

In order to be eligible for the MPSF All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average, be at least a sophomore academically, have completed at least one full year at the member institution prior to the current season and compete in at least 50 percent of their team's games.

Juniors Brian Shoemaker and Geng Wang led the way with their third MPSF All-Academic honors. Matt Gronow and Brent McCunney were also repeat honorees, garnering their second straight accolades from the league.

Among the first-time honorees are Scott Bishop, Teddy Zhang, David Schmidt, Bryce Miller and Alex Semplinski.

The nine award winners mark the most since the 2008 season when 10 Gauchos garnered academic distinction.

UCSB finished the 2011 campaign with a 16-12 overall record and No. 7 national ranking.