Brunner Named to All-MPSF Second Team, Menzel Earns Honorable Mention

April 19, 2008

Complete All-MPSF selection list in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - Two UCSB men's volleyball players were recognized by the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) as Theo Brunner was named to the All-MPSF Second Team and Jeff Menzel earned Honorable Mention. Long Beach State swept the Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year accolades.

Brunner, a senior middle blocker, led the Gauchos with a .391 attack percentage and was tops in blocks with 87 stuffs, just under one per game. He was second on the Gaucho roster with 3.43 kills per game. The Ridgefield, Conn. native set several new career-highs this season including kills (26), digs (8), and points (28.5). Brunner finished his illustrious stint ranked in UCSB's career top ten lists for kills, attack attempts, solo blocks, block assists, and total blocks.

A 2007 AVCA First Team All-American, Brunner was named to the All-MPSF First Team last season and picked up honorable mention in 2006 and 2005.

Menzel posted a stellar season as a true freshman. The opposite hitter led UCSB in total kills (450), kills per game (4.74), attack attempts (992), service aces (25), total points (512.5), and points per game (5.39). The lone Gaucho to start all 27 matches, Menzel has been nationally-ranked all season in kills and points. The Santa Barbara native led UCSB in kills in 18 matches and was tops in attack attempts in all but six contests.

The 49ers won all three major awards as senior outside hitter Paul Lotman was named Player of the Year, setter Mike Klipsch was tabbed the Freshman of the Year, and Alan Knipe won Coach of the Year.

The Gauchos finished the season with a 10-17 overall record and went 7-15 in MPSF matches. UCSB missed postseason play for the first time since 2003.

-- --