Gauchos Head Into Big West Conference Championships With Their Eyes on the Prize

Gauchos Head Into Big West Conference Championships With Their Eyes on the Prize

Complete Results

SANTA BARBARA, Calif.--The UCSB Gauchos will head down to UC Irvine's Anteater Stadium this weekend for the remainder of the Big West Conference Championships, May 11-12. Last year Long Beach State University won the men's division while the California State University-Northridge won the women's division. The Gauchos are looking in pretty good shape and hungrier than ever to reclaim their title. 

All of the multi-event athletes who competed last weekened will return to the track to compete in several open events. Currently, UCSB has 20-points heading into Conference finals, Derek Masterson earning 10 for his first place win in the decathlon followed by Mikael Powers with 8 for his second place finish on the men's side and 10-points on the women's side for Barbara Nwaba's win in the heptathlon.

The men's 800m run will ceratainly be the event to look out for. All eyes are set on UCSB's Ryan Martin who claimed the 2011 Big West 800m Title after surpassing UC Irvine's Charles Jock in a head-to-head dual in the last 50 yards of the race. Martin clocked in a lifetime best time of 1:45.34 which was the second fastest time in the NCAA at the time. 

UCSB's Junior Mitchell Haag will be looking to claim his second Big West Conference Title in the high jump where he cleared 6-9 last year. This year he has cleared a life-time best of 7-0 and has his eyes set on 7-2. Teammates Mike Larocca and Max Villalba are also top contendors in the high jump event and looking to sweep the podium.

The women will be lead by Barbara Nwaba who will be competing in several track and field events including the 100m hurdles, javelin and long jump events. 

Justine Diaz who earned a Big West Title in the 800m at last year's Conference finals will be returning to make a statement after improving her lifetime best to 2:06.09 which breaks a 14-year-old UCSB 800m school record held by Sabrina Caplis in 1998.

The 3,000m steeplechase event will also be an event to watch. Last year Andrea Jacobs finished second with a time of 10:28.32 but since, has improved her time to 10:24.10 and second on the UCSB all-time 800m list. 

Complete live results will be posted at

May 11-12, 2012
Anteater Stadium – Irvine, California

Ticket Prices
Adult - $12 per day
Championship Pass (May 11 & 12) - $20
Championship Pass (Students) - $10
Student/Youth/Seniors - $7 per day



Field Events (Trials/Finals)

9:00 a.m.         Men's Hammer                                   
10:00 a.m.       Women's Javelin                                
12:00 p.m.       Women's Long Jump                         
12:00 p.m.       Men's High Jump                               
1:00 p.m.         Men's Shot Put                                   
1:00 p.m.         Women's Pole Vault                           
3:00 p.m.         Men's Long Jump                   
4:00 p.m.         Women's Discus        

Track Events (Trials unless noted)

2:00 p.m.         Women's Steeplechase (Final)                                  
2:15 p.m.         Men's Steeplechase (Final)                            
2:30 p.m.         Women's 1500 Meters                                   
2:45 p.m.         Men's 1500 Meters                             
3:00 p.m.         Women's 100 Meter Hurdles                          
3:15 p.m.         Men's 110 Meter Hurdles                               
3:30 p.m.         Women's 400 Meters                         
3:45 p.m.         Men's 400 Meters                               
4:00 p.m.         Women's 100 Meters                         
4:10 p.m.         Men's 100 Meters                               
4:20 p.m.         Women's 800 Meters                         
4:35 p.m.         Men's 800 Meters                               
4:50 p.m.         Women's 400 Meter Hurdles                          
5:05 p.m.         Men's 400 Meter Hurdles                               
5:20 p.m.         Women's 200 Meters                         
5:35 p.m.         Men's 200 Meters                               
5:50 p.m.         Women's 10,000 Meters (Final)                                 
6:35 p.m.         Men's 10,000 Meters (Final)


Field Events (Trials/Finals)

9:00 a.m.         Women's Hammer                             
10:00 a.m.       Men's Javelin                         
12:00 p.m.       Women's High Jump                          
12:00 p.m.       Men's Triple Jump                              
1:00 p.m.         Men's Pole Vault                                
1:00 p.m.         Women's Shot Put                             
3:00 p.m.         Women's Triple Jump                        
3:00 p.m.         Men's Discus  

Track Events (All Finals)

2:00 p.m.         Women's 4x100 Meter Relay                         
2:05 p.m.         Men's 4x100 Meter Relay                              
2:15 p.m.         Women's 1500 Meters                                   
2:20 p.m.         Men's 1500 Meters                             
2:30 p.m.         Women's 100 Meter Hurdles                          
2:40 p.m.         Men's 100 Meter Hurdles                               
2:50 p.m.         Women's 400 Meters                         
2:55 p.m.         Men's 400 Meters                               
3:00 p.m.         Women's 100 Meters                         
3:05 p.m.         Men's 100 Meters                               
3:10 p.m.         Women's 800 Meters                         
3:20 p.m.         Men's 800 Meters                               
3:30 p.m.         Women's 400 Meter Hurdles                          
3:40 p.m.         Men's 400 Meter Hurdles                               
3:50 p.m.         Women's 200 Meters                         
3:55 p.m.         Men's 200 Meters                               
4:00 p.m.         Women's 5000 Meters                                   
4:20 p.m.         Men's 5000 Meters                             
4:40 p.m.         Women's 4x400 Meter Relay                         
4:50 p.m.         Men's 4x400 Meter Relay                              
5:00 p.m.         Championship Presentation