Gauchos Score Four Titles at UCSB Classic

Gauchos Score Four Titles at UCSB Classic

Nov. 16, 2008

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - In the last day of the UCSB Classic, the UC Santa Barbara men's tennis team notched seven victories on Sunday afternoon and compiled four titles in the round robin flight tournament.

Among them was doubles Flight B winners Alex Konigsfeldt and Josh Finkelstein. The duo were perfect in the tournament, grabbing a 8-5 victory over Cal Poly's Rob Foy and Andre Dome Sunday afternoon.

In singles competition, three other Gauchos remained unbeaten, including two newcomers Devin Nerenberg and Nick Caledonia. Nerenberg cruised to a 6-3, 6-4 victory over Cal Poly's Blake Wardman in Flight F competition while Caledonia edged Robert Zacks 6-7, 6-1, 6-4 in Flight H play. The last Gaucho to take home a title was junior Josh Finkelstein. The native of Los Angeles sealed the Flight G title with an easy win over Cal Poly's Nick Berger, 6-2, 6-1.

"The bottom of our line-up is pretty solid," head coach Marty Davis said after three Gauchos clinched titles in singles competition. "We're making progress and its nice to see our young guys getting their feet wet."

Sophomore Alex Konigsfeldt grabbed his second win of Flight A competition Sunday, defeating Cal Poly's Rob Foy, 6-4, 6-1 on center court. Max Taylor and Taylor Goggin battled hard fought matches against Mustang opponents to steal their first wins of the tournament. Taylor topped Alex Sonesson 6-2, 3-6, 6-4 while Goggin celebrated a 1-6, 6-2, 7-6 come-from-behind win over Brian McPhee for the last match of the tournament.

The UCSB Classic concludes the fall season for the Gauchos. (Results Below)

Flight Winners


Flight A- Anton Stryhas (3-0)
Flight B- Kiryl Harbatsiuk (3-0)
Flight C- Jason Smith (3-0)
Flight D- Artur Klimenka (2-1; tiebreaker- sets won)
Flight E- Andre Dome (3-0)
Flight F- Devin Nerenberg (3-0)
Flight G- Josh Finkelstein (3-0)
Flight H- Nick Caledonia (3-0)


Flight A- Stryhas/Smith (2-1; tiebreaker- games won)
Flight B- Konigsfeldt/Finkelstein (3-0)
Flight C-Ching/Klimenka (3-0)
Flight D- Berger/McPhee (3-0)

Day Three


Flight A
Anton Stryhas SS def. Aris Andresian LMU 6-1, 6-3
Alex Konigsfeldt UCSB def. Rob Foy CP 6-4, 6-1

Flight B
Kiryl Harbatsiuk SS def. Ivan Lopez LMU 6-7, 6-3, 6-4
Max Taylor UCSB def. Alex Sonesson CP 6-2, 3-6, 6-4

Flight C
Jason Smith SS def. Borta Malet LMU 6-3, 6-0
Taylor Goggin UCSB def. Brian McPhee CP 1-6, 6-2, 7-6

Flight D
Aram Abgaryan LMU def. Artur Klimenka SS 7-6, 3-6, 6-3
Drew Jacobs CP def. Evan Jurgensen UCSB 6-3, 7-6

Flight E
Renzo Maggi LMU def. Holden Ching SS 7-5, 7-6
Andre Dome CP def. Matt Forget UCSB, 6-4, 6-7, 6-2

Flight F
Geza Bazula LMU def. Marko Starcevic SS 7-6, 6-2
Devin Nerenverg UCSB def. Blake Wardman CP 6-3, 6-4

Flight G
Jimmy Roberts SS def. Dmitry Popov LMU 3-6, 6-4, 7-5
Josh Finkelstein UCSB def. Nick Berger CP 6-2, 6-1

Flight H
Nick Caledonia UCSB def. Robert Zacks CP 6-7,6-1, 6-1


Flight A
Stryhas/Smith SS def. Lopez/Malet LMU 8-6
Sonesson/Wardman CP def. Therp/Hohenstein UCSB 8-5

Flight B
Harbatsiuk/Starcevic SS def. Maggi/Bazula LMU 8-6
Konigsfeldt/Finkelstein UCSB def. Foy/Dome CP 8-5

Flight C
Ching/Klimenka SS def. Andresian/Abgaryan LMU 8-2
Zacks/Jacobs CP def. Goggin/Taylor UCSB 9-7

Flight D
Berger/McPhee CP def. Nerenberg/Jurgensen UCSB 8-5