UCSB Wins Seven League Titles on Day Two of Big West

UCSB Wins Seven League Titles on Day Two of Big West

Feb. 21, 2008

Complete Results

LONG BEACH, Calif. - The second day of the competition had the UC Santa Barbara men's and women's swim teams winning seven league titles and breaking two school records. The women's team is on top of the standings with 317 points. The men's team currently resides on the top of the list of the Big West with 349 points.

Senior co-captain Brooks Felton showed off his great range of capabilities in the 500 free, winning the league title in 4:28.89. Felton beat out Alex Arbios of UC Davis by over a second. Freshman Lindsay Gaudinier placed seventh in the women's 500 free in 5:00.14.

Junior Katy Freeman gave the UCSB women's swim team another league championship with her victory in the 200 IM, clocking in 2:01.52. Freshman Brittany Borowitz placed third in the event behind Ja-Neil Bragg (2:02.98). Both times are underneath the NCAA consideration cut time of 2:04.29. Sophomore Matt Bartlett narrowly beat out Eddie Erazo of UC Irvine by .08 of a second for the title in the men's version of the 200 IM (1:47.88). Dan Nyaradi was fourth in 1:50.64.

Sophomore Anne Marie May won the 50 free for the second year in a row (22.21). May's time also broke her own school record previously set at 22.60, which she set earlier this year. Sophomore Courtney Bauer took third place in 23.35. She recorded a season-best time in the premlims (23.33).

Junior Bradley Matsumoto claimed the league title in the men's 50 free (19.83) over junior Jeff Sudbury who finished second in 20.19. Sophomore Scott Vogelgesang claimed the number three spot in 20.29.

Jessica Cruzat, Sara Nicponski, Erin Yamamoto, and Anne Marie May told the 400 medley league championship in 3:41.75 over UC Irvine. UCSB won the event last year as well. Bartlett, Jeff Sudbury, Danny McClary and Matsumoto took first place in the the men's 400 medley relay in 3:16.03, breaking the UCSB record from 2005 (3:16.91).

The Big West Swimming and Diving Championships continue tomorrow with the 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free, 100 breast, 100 back, and 200 free relay. The qualifying rounds begin at 10:30 AM with the finals starting at 6:00 PM.