UCSB Travels to Talking Stick to Compete in Wyoming Cowboy Classic, presented by Cleveland Golf

April 6, 2009

SCOTTSDALE-Ariz. - With the Spring season winding down, the UC Santa Barbara golf team will compete in the seventh annual Cowboy Classic, presented by Cleveland Golf, this coming week at Talking Stick Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. The 2009 Cowboy Classic will be played on Monday, April 6 and Tuesday, April 7.

UCSB has finished in the top ten six of their nine tournaments on the season. The Gauchos have averaged 293.26 strokes per round in 27 total.

Tyler Weir has been swinging a hot stick for the Gauchos, averaging 73.92 strokes per round on the season. Last week he finished tied for 20th for the Gauchos in the Western Intercollegiate who leading the team with a 223. He has finished in the top-ten in two tournaments on the year.

Brian Hollenbeck currently boasts UCSB's lowest scoring average on the season at 73.56. His best finish of the season was a tie for 6th during the Fall Season's Del Walker Classic.

UC Davis has won the Cowboy Classic in back-to-back years, shooting a 840 (E) in 2007 and an 833 (-7) in 2008.

Individually, Boise State's Troy Merritt won the tournament title in 2008. Merritt posted the best individual tournament score in the history of the classic, a 202 (-8).

Talking Stick was designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw in 1998. Since its opening, it has hosted the PGA Tour Qualifying School in 1998 and `99, and the USGA Sectional Qualifier in 1998, 2002 and 2005, among numerous other events.

Tournament Schedule: Practice rounds, Sunday, April 5, beginning at 10:30 a.m. First and second rounds (played consecutively), Monday, April 6, Shotgun start at 7:45 a.m. Third round, Tuesday, April 7, Shotgun start at 7:45 a.m.

Host Course: Talking Stick North Course, Scottsdale, Ariz., (480) 860-2221

Yardage/Par: 7,133/Par 70

2008 Field (23 teams): Wyoming, Arizona, Boise State, Fresno State, Gonzaga, Grand Canyon, Idaho, Northwestern, Old Dominion, Oregon State, San Diego, San Diego State, San Jose State, Southern Utah, Texas, UC Davis, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara, Pacific, Utah UTEP, Weber State and Western Carolina.