UCSB to Host Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament

UCSB to Host Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament

March 9, 2000

UC Santa Barbara is set to host the Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament at La Purisima Golf Course in Lompoc, CA on Monday and Tuesday, March 13-14. The tournament will be 54 holes, 36 on the first day and 18 on day two.

The Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament is making its first-ever appearance at La Purisima and Gaucho head coach Steve Lass is excited about it.

"La Purisima is a great course," he noted. "Not only is it a beautiful setting, but it is extremely challenging. I am very excited about holding the tournament there and I think it is a great opportunity."

There are other reasons to be excited as well. Of the 19 teams in the tournament, 11 are currently ranked among the nation's top-100. Seventh-ranked Brigham Young, led by senior Andy Miller, who is ranked 21st among individuals nationally, is the top team in the tournament. In addition to 58th-ranked UCSB, the other 17 teams will be San Diego State (No. 34), Cal (No. 39), North Texas (No. 41), Pepperdine (No. 60), Long Beach State (No. 67), Pacific (No. 74), UC Irvine (No. 79), Nevada (No. 82), Wyoming (No. 88), Idaho State, the University of San Diego, the University of San Francisco, Weber State, San Jose State, New Mexico State, Cal State Northridge and Illinois.

In addition to Andy Miller, five other players ranked among the top-100 in the nation will participate. Miller, the son of former PGA-great Johnny Miller, is joined by his teammates and brothers Todd Miller (No. 60) and Scott Miller (No. 87).

The 19 team field will play a practice round on Sunday, March 12. The 36 holes on Monday, March 13 will have a 7:30 a.m. shotgun start. The final 18 holes on Tuesday, March 14 will start with tee times between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. La Purisima Golf Course is a 6,657 yard, par 72 course. It played host to the 1997 PGA Tour School Finals.

Cal will be looking to defend its 1999 Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate championship. Last year, the Golden Bears narrowly defeated UCSB, 865 to 867. The individual champion last year was John Le Pak of Oregon State. UCSB's Naoya Takemoto finished second, one stroke back. Past individual champions have included Craig Stadler (1973), Scott Simpson (1977) and Duffy Waldorf (1985).