UCSB To Host Bite/Pacific Intercollegiate Tournament

Feb. 28, 2001

UC Santa Barbara is set to host the Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament at La Purisima Golf Course in Lompoc, CA on Monday and Tuesday, March 5-6. The tournament will be 54 holes, 36 on the first day and 18 on day two.

The Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament is making its first-ever appearance at La Purisima and Gaucho head coach Steve Lass is excited about it.

"La Purisima is a great course," he noted. "Not only is it a beautiful setting, but it is extremely challenging. I am very excited about holding the tournament there and I think it is a great opportunity."

There are other reasons to be excited as well. Of the 18 teams in the tournament, 8 are currently ranked among the nation's top-100. Twenty third-ranked San Diego State, led by sophomore Lars Johansson, who is ranked 71st, among individuals nationally, is the top team in the tournament. In addition to 67th-ranked UCSB, the other 16 teams will be Nevada (No. 41) UC Irvine (No. 53), Long Beach State (No. 69), University of San Diego (No. 77), Pacific (No. 83), and North Texas (No. 90), Cal State Northridge , San Jose State, New Mexico State, UC Davis, Cal Poly, Santa Clara, University of San Francisco, Boise State, Loyola Marymount, and Utah.

In addition to Lars Johansson, five other players ranked among the top-150 in the nation will participate. Johansson is joined by his teammates John Lieber (No. 91) and John Lepak (No. 134). UCSB's Jeff Wood enters the tournament ranked 175th nationally.

The 18 team field will play a practice round on Sunday, March 4. The 36 holes on Monday, March 5 will have a 7:30 a.m. shotgun start. The final 18 holes on Tuesday, March 6 will start with tee times between 7:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m. La Purisima Golf Course is a 6,657 yard, par 72 course. It played host to the 1997 PGA Tour School Finals.

University of San Diego is looking to avenge last years one stroke loss to to BYU in the Bite/Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Tournament now that the Cougars are no longer in the field. Despite the performance on individual tournament champion Patrick Hawkins of USD, BYU nipped the Tritons 896 to 897. The individual champion last year was John Le Pak of Oregon State. Jeff Wood returns as UCSB's top finisher last year with a three score of 232, good for a share of 32nd place. Past individual champions have included Craig Stadler (1973), Scott Simpson (1977) and Duffy Waldorf (1985).