UCSB's 2011 Big West Champs, NCAA Tournament Participants to be Honored Sunday

April 27, 2011

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The UC Santa Barbara men's basketball team will celebrate its second straight NCAA Tournament appearance and Big West Tournament championship at its annual banquet on Sunday, May 1 from 2:00-5:00 p.m. at Corwin Pavilion in the University Center.

The 2011 Gauchos stormed through the Big West Tournament with resounding wins over Pacific, Cal State Northridge and regular season champion Long Beach State. They advanced to the NCAA Tournament and played Southeastern Conference champion Florida in Tampa.

The 2011 UCSB team became the first in program history to advance to back-to-back NCAA Tournaments and also the first to win consecutive league crowns.

The Gauchos were led by junior Orlando Johnson who averaged 21.0 points per game and was named Big West Tournament Most Valuable Player, First Team All-District and First Team All-Big West. In addition, junior James Nunnally was among the league's top scorers. Nunnally and Jaimé Serna joined Johnson on the Big West All-Tournament Team.

The public is welcome to join in the celebration of UCSB's second straight championship team. The cost is $40.00 per individual, $20.00 for children 13 and under or $300.00 for a table that seats eight.

For additional information or to R.S.V.P., please contact Christina Baglas at 805-893-5372 or at Christina.Baglas@athletics.ucsb.edu.