Branduinn Fullove Becomes First Men's Basketball All-American Since 1992

April 5, 2003

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - UC Santa Barbara junior guard Branduinn Fullove was selected Honorable Mention All-American by the Associated Press, becoming the first Gaucho to earn such an honor since 1992, it was announced Friday.

Fullove, the 2003 Big West Player of the Year and First Team All-Big West choice, helped to lead UCSB to the 2003 Big West regular season championship, its first. In addition, Fullove and the Gauchos made their second consecutive appearance in postseason play, losing an overtime heartbreaker to San Diego State in the National Invitation Tournament.

Fullove paced the Gauchos in scoring this season, finishing at 14.6 points per game. He also averaged 3.7 rebounds and 1.9 assists per game. In addtion, the two-time Big West Player of the Week made 53 three-point baskets, second on the team, and shot a team-best 83.7% from three-point range. During the season, Fullove became the 19th Gaucho player to eclipse the 1,000 point mark.

Previously, the last UCSB player to earn All-American honors was Lucius Davis in 1992.

AP All-American Teams

First team
David West, Xavier; T.J. Ford, Texas; Josh Howard, Wake Forest; Nick Collison, Kansas; Dwyane Wade, Marquette.

Second team
Hollis Price, Oklahoma; Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse; Kyle Korver, Creighton; Troy Bell, Boston College; Jason Gardner, Arizona.

Third team
Brian Cook, Illinois; Reece Gaines, Louisville; Kirk Hinrich, Kansas; Keith Bogans, Kentucky; Ron Slay, Tennessee.

Honorable mention
(In alphabetical order) Mario Austin, Mississippi State; Marcus Banks, UNLV; Steve Blake, Maryland; Brett Blizzard, North Carolina-Wilmington; Matt Bonner, Florida; Jermaine Boyette, Weber State; Gregory Burks, Prairie View A&M; Torrey Butler, Coastal Carolina; Matt Carroll, Notre Dame; Donald Cole, Sam Houston State.

Taylor Coppenrath, Vermont; Ike Diogu, Arizona State; Ruben Douglas, New Mexico; Luis Flores, Manhattan; Branduinn Fullove, UC Santa Barbara; Antonio Gates, Kent State; Willie Green, Detroit; Jermaine Hall, Wagner; Jarvis Hayes, Georgia; Mike Helms, Oakland, Mich.

Dahntay Jones, Duke; Chris Kaman, Central Michigan; Brandin Knight, Pittsburgh; Ricky Minard, Morehead State; James Moore, New Mexico State; Jameer Nelson, Saint Joseph's; Emeka Okafor, Connecticut; Ugonna Onyekwe, Pennsylvania; Kirk Penney, Wisconsin; Luke Ridnour, Oregon.

Quinton Ross, Southern Methodist; Joe Shipp, California; Adam Sonn, Belmont; Blake Stepp, Gonzaga; Mike Sweetney, Georgetown; Chris Thomas, Notre Dame; Luke Walton, Arizona; Patrick Whearty, Holy Cross; Troy Wheless, College of Charleston; Ron Williamson, Howard.