Heidegger Adds More Postseason Hardware, Selected to Lou Henson Mid-Major All-America Team

Max Heidegger (Photo by Eric Isaacs)
Max Heidegger (Photo by Eric Isaacs)

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - UC Santa Barbara sophomore guard Max Heidegger has been named to the 2017-18 Lou Henson Mid-Major All-America Team by CollegeInsider.com, it was announced Thursday.

Heidegger, who was also a First Team All-Big West Conference selection, a Second Team All-District 9 choice by the National Association of Basketball Coaches, and a member of the Big West All-Tournament Team, averaged 19.1 points, 2.5 rebounds and 2.5 assists per game, helping UCSB to a 23-9 overall record and an 11-5 mark in the Big West. The win total tied the school record and it represented a 17-win jump from the previous season, equaling the largest season-to-season win increase in NCAA history. 

Heidegger also set a new Gaucho record for three-point baskets in a season with 95, a league-leading 2.97 per game. His scoring average ranked second in the conference and he was also among the league leaders in three-point field goal percentage at 40.4%. 

"This is another great honor for Max," said head coach Joe Pasternack. "Beginning last spring, he honored the process, everyday, and the end result was an outstanding season for Max and for UCSB."

In addition to his record for three-point baskets in a season, Heidegger scored 612 points, the most ever by a UCSB sophomore and the fifth highest total in school history. He scored in double-figures 30 times in 32 games, had 20 or more 13 times and 30 or more twice, including a 33-point, eight three-pointer game in a season-opening win over North Dakota State.

Heidegger joins Orlando Johnson and Alan Williams as Gauchos who have been named to the Lou Henson Mid-Major All-America Team. He is the only Big West Conference player and one of just eight sophomores included on the 40-man 2017-18 team.

Lou Henson coached 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.