Williams is Finalist for Lou Henson Award for Mid-Major Player of the Year

Alan Williams (Photo by Eric Isaacs)
Alan Williams (Photo by Eric Isaacs)

BOSTON, Mass. -  The finalists for the 2014 Lou Henson Award were announced on Thursday and UCSB's Alan Williams was among them.

"This is without question the best group of finalists we have ever had," said CollegeInsider.com's Angela Lento. "Selecting the player of the year from this group will not be easy." 

The list of finalists also comprise the 2013-14 Lou Henson All-America team. 

Previous recipients of the award include  Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary's 2013), Kyle O'Quinn (Norfolk State 2012), Matt Howard (Butler 2011) and Keith Benson (Oakland 2010).

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years.

When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The winner of the 2014 Henson award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the Division I Men's Basketball Championship.

NOTE: Ronnie Baker (Wichita State), Billy Baron (Canisius) and Cleanthony Early (Wichita State) were named to the Lute Olson All-America Team.


Ike Azotam 6-7 Sr. Quinnipiac
Travis Bader 6-5 Sr. Oakland
George Beamon 6-4 Sr. Manhattan
Taylor Braun 6-7 Sr. North Dakota State
Alec Brown 7-1 Sr. Green Bay
David Brown 6-3 Sr. Western Michigan
Julius Brown 5-10 Jr. Toledo
Glenn Cosey 6-0 Sr. Eastern Kentucky
Torrey Craig 6-6 Sr. USC Upstate
Langston Hall 6-4 Sr. Mercer
Tyler Haws 6-5 Jr. BYU
Troy Huff 6-5 Sr. North Dakota
R.J. Hunter 6-5 So. Georgia State
Jeremy Ingram 6-3 Sr. North Carolina Central
Kareem Jamar 6-5 Sr. Montana
J.J. Mann 6-6 Sr. Belmont
Z. Mason 6-6 Sr. Chattanooga
Javon McCrea 6-7 Sr. Buffalo
Aaric Murray 6-0 Sr. Texas Southern
Jake Odum 6-4 Sr. Indiana State
Jacob Parker 6-6 Jr. Stephen F. Austin
Elfrid Payton 6-3 Jr. Louisiana Lafayette
Devon Saddler 6-2 Sr. Delaware
Wesley Saunders 6-5 Jr. Harvard
Justin Sears 6-8 So. Yale
Kiefer Sykes 5-11 Jr. Green Bay
Jameel Warney 6-8 So. Stony Brook
Jalan West 5-10 So. Northwestern State
Alan Williams 6-8 Jr. UC Santa Barbara
Pendarvis Williams 6-6 Sr. Norfolk State