Legends of the 'Dome

For over 30 years, from the mythic men's basketball teams that slayed the UNLV powerhouses of the late 80's and 90's; to women's Gaucho hoops teams that excited a community and a campus, owned a conference, and produced WNBA players; to a volleyball program that for 26 years was one of just three teams in the nation to make the NCAA Tournament every year, the Thunderdome has housed some of the best players and teams to ever make their imprint at UCSB.

The name is also legendary - the Thunderdome. The loud, passionate fans, clad in gold t-shirts, scared the competition away and baptized it as such. The Thunderdome is not a place of sanction.

To immortalize the Gaucho athletes that consistently turned in legendary performances inside of a legendary building, UCSB Athletics implemented its Legends of the 'Dome program in 2009. Each year, fans are asked to vote for the next Legend or Legends to be raised in tribute.

In 2009-10 the inaugural Legends class was introduced: Mark French and Barb Beainy (women's basketball), Brian Shaw and Carrick DeHart (men's basketball), and Roberta Gehlke (women's volleyball).  There are now nine Legends with two more to be added during the 2011-12 basketball season.

The Legends of the 'Dome

Roberta Gehlke - Women's Volleyball - Unveiled October 17, 2009

Carrick DeHart - Men's Basketball - Unveiled January 23, 2010

Brian Shaw - Men's Basketball - Unveiled February 13, 2010

Mark French - Women's Basketball - Unveiled February 11, 2010

Barb Beainy - Women's Basketball - Unveiled February 27, 2010

Kathy Gregory - Women's Volleyball - Unveiled October 1, 2010

Eric "The Freeze" McArthur - Men's Basketball - Unveiled February 16, 2011

Kristen Mann - Women's Basketball - Unveiled February 24, 2011

Judy Bellomo - Women's Volleyball - Unveiled October 15, 2011