Over 70 UCSB Student-Athletes to Graduate this Week

The Athletics Department will honor graduates in annual Sash Ceremony on Friday afternoon

The Gaucho class of 2010
will be earning degrees in
18 majors.

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The UC Santa Barbara Intercollegiate Athletics Department is pleased to announce that over 70 student-athletes will be participating in this week's commencement ceremonies and/or completing their degree requirements this week.

UC Santa Barbara's commencement activities began last Sunday with the College of Creative Studies ceremony and will continue with seven more graduation ceremonies this Friday through Sunday.

The UCSB Intercollegiate Athletics Department boasts an 83% Graduation Success Rate. The over 70 graduating Gauchos will be earning their degrees in 18 different majors.

In other Gaucho news, a handful of ICA employees and student-athletes have earned campus awards. Head women's volleyball coach Kathy Gregory was named one of the 2010 Professional Women's Association's Unsung Heroines. Additionally, the Gauchos' Head Athletic Trainer Leroy Heu was nominated by women's basketball player Chris Spencer for the 2010 Margaret T. Getman Service to Students Award.

Track and field athlete Kayla Smith, who also served as the female co-chair for the Student-Athlete Advisory Board the past two years, earned a 2010 Leadership and Activities Award for Individual Co-Curricular Activity. Another winner of the award was Javier Martinez, the student leader of the ICA Events Staff. Rounding out the ICA honorees was Jillanne Porter, an intern for the Gaucho Fund, who won the University Service Award.

The following is the list of Gauchos who have either completed their degrees this spring, will be walking at commencement or both. Some have already exhausted their eligibility while others will return to complete another season with their teams during the 2010-11 school year.

Shane Arslan - Business Economics with Accounting Emphasis, Sport Management (minor)
Ben Edelstein - Business Economics, Sport Management (minor)
Mark Haddow - Business Economics
Doug Hansen - Business Economics, Sport Management (minor)
Mario Hollands - Sociology
David Meals - Sociology and Business Economics
Marty Mullins - Business Economics
Ryan Tregoning - Business Economics
Connor Whalen - Business Economics, Sport Management (minor)

Men's Basketball
James Powell - Sociology
Paul Roemer - Sociology
Jordan Weiner - Political Science

Women's Basketball
Ariana Gnekow - Sociology, Athletic Coaching (minor)
Jessie Goble - Sociology
Jordan Franey - History, Exercise Science and Education (minor)
Chris Spencer - College of Creative Studies - Biology
Whitney Warren - Women's Studies

Men's Cross Country/Track and Field
Erik Aardal - Global Studies and Spanish
Jeff Campbell - Business Economics
Julian DeRubira - Environmental Studies
Drew Johnston - Global Studies and Geography
Jason Newland - Business Economics, Athletic Coaching (minor)
Hector Serrano - Sociology
Scott Smith - Environmental Studies, Education (minor)
Brian Sung - Business Economics
Waleed Totari - Global Studies

Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
Danielle Domenichelli - Biological Sciences and Art History
Jane Doolittle - Sociology
Liza Hitchner - MA in Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
Katie Voigtlander - Business Economics with Accounting Emphasis, Sport Management (minor)

Sean Bowman
- Business Economics
Brian Hollenbeck - Sociology

Men's Soccer
C.J. Cintas - Environmental Studies
Jonathan Zerah - Philosophy

Women's Soccer
Genelle Ives - Environmental Studies
Tammy Lenham - Sociology
Sarah Stoltz - Mechanical Engineering

Men's Swimming
Brett Chamberlain - Sociology
Travis Jepson - Art, Writing (minor)
Jon Kraetsch - History
Danny McClary - Mechanical Engineering
Scott Vogelgesang - Sociology
Chris Wiggin - Global Studies
Joe Wood - Sociology

Women's Swimming
Courtney Bauer - Business Economics
Carri Cook - Sociology and Black Studies
Naomi Javanifard - Art History with Architecture and Environment Emphasis
Anne Marie May - Communication, Fitness Instruction (minor)
Jessica Schwalb - Business Economics
Katie Ure - Sociology

Men's Tennis
Josh Finkelstein - Business Economics
Scott Hohenstein - Sociology

Women's Tennis
Tova Hausman - Sociology
Chelsea Mosser - Environmental Studies
Bryanna Ojeda - Business Economics and Mathematics
Asagi Onaga - Philosophy

Men's Volleyball
Jake Rosener - Biology
Sam Moisenco - Political Science, History (minor)

Women's Volleyball
Rebecca Saraceno - Global Studies
Leigh Stephenson - History, German (minor)

Men's Water Polo
Brian Bishop - Mechanical Engineering
Fraser Bunn - Business Economics
Sean Castillo - Mathematics
Kendell Olds - Business Economics
Stefan Partelow - Environmental Studies
Miles Price - Anthropology
Russell Russo LeVasseur - Environmental Studies
Zsombor Vincze - Business Economics
Joe Wood - Sociology

Women's Water Polo
Taylor Byrne - Global Studies
Christie Clark - English
Katie Kepner - Sociology
Lizzie Rouleau - Sociology

Priscilla Perez - Communication, Education (minor)
Kelsey Anderson - Global Studies
MeLinda Matsumoto - Business Economics, Sport Management (minor)
Lindsey Correa - Communication, Sports Management (minor)
Jessica Ziegler - Biochemistry